Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Sunday morning

I was fearful about many things.

Sunday morning: Stung.
You know the Sting?
Someone acts like they care, and then halfway through the conversation you realize it was really about them, to get themselves something or to stop something that bothered them.
Ouch.

And I had anxieties.
Cast your cares on the Lord.
Well, I did.
Picture me throwing (I have bad aim)
To Jesus (he’s an amazing catcher)
Naming just first names of my cares, people for whom I care, or situations in a word.

But it was odd:
The more I threw the cares,
And he caught them, and that care was lifted,
More cares came up.

It was like seeping in through cracks.
I have cracks?
Well yes.

Like a tire with a nail in it,

Like a sinking rowboat I was bailing while water seeped in.
You know that feeling?
Can I bail fast enough for long enough just to reach shore?

But God…But GOD!
Gave me time out.
I sat in my car during choir practice.

I wrote my heart to Jesus:
I am way too anxious, Lord.
Forgive me?
Hold me?
Smile?

My heart lightened.
I felt I should read my email, and there was this post:
The Only True Antidote to Worry.

I read it and I soaked in her answer.
“Thy will be done.”
I knew it by heart, for I recite the Lord’s prayer more often than weekly.

Thy will be done.

Thy will be done in each of those things I threw to you!

That tire with the puncture image comes nearest to what happened next.
There’s this stuff you can squirt into a tire instead of air and the air pressure pushes the stuff to the leak so that it fills the leak, sealing the tire again, and then you can put air in to fill the tire up.

I prayed deeply, thy will be done in everything, and the Holy Spirit was that sealant. It was at that point that I realized there were cracks that had been letting in worry, fear, and doubt.

Sealed with the Holy Spirit is a biblical promise from Jesus.
I never thought of it being a sealant effect from the inside out to make me strong against the temptation to disbelief!

I hope it lasts.
Forever!

I’m pretty sure I don’t have to worry about it lasting because He will last: He will keep his promises to me. All of them are yes in Christ.

All praise and thanks to him!

Linking up with Holley and Arabah Joy:

Coffee-for-Your-Heart-150

Grace&Truth-300x300

Comments on: "Sunday morning" (9)

  1. sandraj2015 said:

    Beth – Really love your writing and your thoughts. Your picture with the Holy Spirit as a sealant, to stop leakage is so helpful. Coming to visit from Holly Gerth’s site. sandraj

  2. I’m so relating to everything you’re saying, Beth, even down to reciting the Lord’s prayer more often than weekly and having to talk away your anxiety during choir practice. 🙂 I love the imagery of the sealant effect from the inside out.

  3. Yes, we are sealed with the Holy Spirit. Love the analogy you gave. I love that we can go to Jesus anytime and chat about our hardships, for He understands.

  4. I love this Beth! So glad you shared.

  5. Beth, thank you so much for this:

    “And I had anxieties.
    Cast your cares on the Lord.
    Well, I did.
    Picture me throwing (I have bad aim)
    To Jesus (he’s an amazing catcher)
    Naming just first names of my cares, people for whom I care, or situations in a word.”

  6. Thank you for sharing your prayers with us. It’s all about trusting God, isn’t it? If we keep up our shield of faith, the arrows of darkness cannot shoot holes in our trust.

    Blessings from Italy,
    Milly

  7. momoencourages said:

    Another thank you for putting my thoughts and feelings on paper. Yes, I have to come back to Thy will be done each and every time, only then do I experience peace. Giving thanks while I pray for each request is wonderful too…Phil 4:6

  8. Jennifer @ A Divine Encounter said:

    Such a neat way to look at the “sealing” of the Spirit. It brings life to that truth. Thank you for sharing this with us at Grace & Truth!

  9. Chris Malkemes said:

    Loved – loved – loved this. Did I say I loved this? Your words were spot on and touched the heart. I was with you all the way. The beauty of the Holy Spirit is that when we yield, really yield, He touches those places we’ve hidden so well (we didn’t even know what we did with them). Worry! Get lost! Fear! You don’t live here anymore. That sealing of the Holy Spirit is powerful stuff. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

