Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Feed my Soul

Linking up with Bonnie today about “what I love to do that feeds my soul” only my writing turned introspective and hearkened back to some of the highlights of my life in terms of soul feeding…so I’m not sure it fits in easily, but it’s where I went with the prompt. Boldly sharing:

“When I run I feel his pleasure!” Eric Liddell said.
What is it, when you do, you feel the pleasure of God?
A few nights ago we watched a tightrope walker across Chicago’s river. He gave thanks to God and he said, “I was made for this.”
How wonderful that feeling is, that joy!
I have sometimes felt it.
I think so, anyway.
What do you think?
A long time ago I sat alone in prayer and realized that lust can’t have any power over dead people. “Do you not know you have died with Christ?” I heard it echoing in my mind from our Colossians study a few days previously. I praised the Lord, and have not struggled with lust since. (If you never heard that women can struggle with lust we can discuss it.)
Another time I returned to my one bedroom apartment, the bedroom set aside for the baby we were trying to teach to sleep through the night alone (that’s another story) and cried to God about the friend’s house I had just helped clean to show for sale. I had forgotten it was in the ten commandments: thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s house. But once it was applied by the Holy Spirit to my heart, I could confess and have not had one bit of house envy since.
When people speak of never really being freed from sin this side of heaven, I do have to speak up. I don’t know about being freed from all sin and never sinning again in this life in any way, but I do know the freedom from temptation in particular areas that God’s healing forgiveness has given to me.
James said it was our own evil desire that entices us. Not God. Not even the advertisements. (Who that has a brand new car is tempted by a different new car ad?) It’s my sin-broken heart that leads me astray. It’s God’s work through his Word combined with the power of the Holy Spirit that has freed me, heart and soul.
One more story. I was going to be going to England for a month last May, so about a year ago now I asked God, “Could you please heal my milk allergy? It sure would be fun to drink milk in England, to be free to eat whatever.” I asked it in a sort of little girl crawling into Daddy’s lap to ask a favor, confident he could do it but fine if he decided it was not good. He did heal me, (I think two things factored into the process but I didn’t make the connection at the time) and I can’t deny it but must give him praise.
Three stories.
Not really directly answering the question of what is it that when I do, I feel his pleasure. But let me try to draw out a common theme. Listening to the word of God and responding to it, humbly depending on the Holy Spirit to work what I cannot do. Then praising him, remembering and celebrating his gift.
I most feel his pleasure when I realize he is with me, loves me, is healing me. Something like, when I know I am on the right road in this life.

A love relationship with God, no matter what I’m doing.

I’m so excited to start the Finding Spiritual Whitespace bookclub; to journal through the book that Bonnie wrote in context of this community, as if leading this community, and now is leading those who opt in! I invite you along: like her FaceBook page and join us with a copy of the book and a journal (I’ll be using my Christmas gift journal).

More answers to the question from other bloggers are at Bonnie’s (click here to read).

beloved_brews_faithbarista_badge

Comments on: "Feed my Soul" (3)

  1. Hi Beth,
    Visiting from Bonnie’s link-up today! I love what you say about pursuing a love relationship with God by being in his presence and feeling his pleasure. Growing in our walk of faith is what feeds our souls, isn’t it? Enjoyed your post!

  2. “A love relationship with God…no matter what I am doing.” Love this!

  3. “Listening to the word of God and responding to it, humbly depending on the Holy Spirit to work what I cannot do. Then praising him, remembering and celebrating his gift.
    I most feel his pleasure when I realize he is with me, loves me, is healing me.” Yes, this is so beautiful and true. Thankful to connect with you at Bonnie’s Beloved Brews!

Leave a Reply

