Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Beauty Secrets

I had moved to a new city, new school, in 7th grade. New kids to get to know, and one was quite popular although I couldn’t figure out why since his looks were nothing special, maybe a little odd? My family was at his house visiting one day, and I don’t know what it was going on but he sort of affectionately said, “Beth, you’re a turkey.” I had absolutely no clue how to take that. But I figured, it’s not just looks that can make someone special.

He started me on this odd tangent, to look for the beauty in everyone.

Another kid, younger than me, fine features but maybe not head-turning, glowed when he played guitar. Why?

They talk about beauty from within. I think of how one other kid (why are my examples all guys?) became a Christian in college…from following a girl he thought was cute to her Bible study! I met him when he came to church and over the years in the college group I saw not only his spiritual understanding rocket forward to catch up with the group but also his face change. First, the eyes glowed. The acne died down and away.

The face reflects the heart.

I had my baby late in life, late in our marriage (after 11 years). So when some stranger asked if she were my granddaughter, I decided to die my hair, at least until she was ten. It’s a mess, it’s an unnecessary cost (for me, because I look beautiful in silver hair) but in a way I was chasing the world’s beautiful. I’m back to gray now, and the funniest thing happened: a kid at the pharmacy tried to bleach his hair to look like mine! (But he got blond.)

It all came together and I learned when we went for portraits at JC Penney studios, how to look my best.

Smile: your smile (with or without lipstick) is your first beauty point.

Love: you look your best when love is flowing out of you, whether that means playing guitar (doing something you love) or loving people.

Pray: connect to God. Jesus said, “I am the vine…” and I always used to feel guilty about the expectation to bear fruit because I didn’t think I was…but I see now that the expectation on me is to stay connected. Relax into the connection and fruit will come, and my relaxed and happy heart will show on my face.

I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.

I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.
(John 15:1-8)

Also joining the Jam on Beauty at FaithBarista

Comments on: "Beauty Secrets" (9)

  1. I had a “friend” in 3rd grade announce in the lunch room that I was Lassie (I assumed it was because of my bushy hair?). I didn’t take it as a compliment; his words have stuck with me my whole life. ha. Although I think I’ve forgiven him now. 🙂

    I love your three points on how to look our best. I always said I’d never dye my hair, but in the end I was more insecure than I wanted to be, so I do dye it now. But bravo to you for returning to your natural color! You are beautiful.

    Thanks for leaving the sweet comment on my blog. It made my day. Your words are very special! Every comment is unique and I treasure each one. We all have a different shade of beauty to share.

    I think the TED talks can be downloaded as audio–I listen to some on my mp3 player when I can’t sleep. My most favorite thing now is NPR’s TED Radio Hour podcast. They highlight some great TED talks, which sometimes lead me to go watch. 🙂

    • Thank you Lisa!
      I love Lassie, for her gorgeous coloring but also for her loyal loving heart! I’ve loved collies ever since, but never had one. It’s not a compliment to be called a dog, but I hope you have had more fitting compliments since. True compliments you can live on. Thanks for sharing that story. It’s funny, isn’t it, how the tone of the remark helps us to interpret it? I never felt his calling me turkey was bad; I just never knew what he meant! We weren’t close, either. Oh well.
      Also, I hope I’m clear that dying or not dying, wearing make up or not, it’s no big deal. I’m not against either one.
      Thank you for coming over and commenting. Grace and peace to you.

  2. “Jesus said, “I am the vine…” and I always used to feel guilty about the expectation to bear fruit because I didn’t think I was…but I see now that the expectation on me is to stay connected. Relax into the connection and fruit will come, and my relaxed and happy heart will show on my face.” I love how you word this, Beth. That it’s more important to relax into the connection instead of feeling guilty about our failure to bear fruit as we think we should. Thank you.

  3. Dear Beth,
    I love your 3 points: “smile, love and pray”. It is a good way to greet each day!

  4. smile love pray
    Yes. True beauty indeed.
    And.I.Love.Your.Hair.

  5. I loved this post! “The face reflects the heart.” Wow. Super powerful and beautiful thought. I wrote it down in my journal. In these days where I get little sleep as a mom I know I have let my weary and often impatient heart reflect back to little faces peering up at me, to others in grocery stores as I run through my day, to my husband who comes home craving peace and rejuvenation. Thank you for that wisdom and vision today. I am visiting from Faith Jam!

Leave a Reply

