Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

November Sunrise

IMG_2831
This pink in the sky first caught my breath as I opened the door into the front half of our house. It includes my morning glance to the ocean to see if it is a fine day down by the beach. Alternately I listen for a fog horn even if the sun is shining here. But no, today is beautiful and the morning sunrise caught my breath so that I had to click and praise God and share the joy with you today.
IMG_2836
Stepping out my front door to take the actual sunrise over a neighbor’s house, my eyes were arrested by the mountains also glowing. These same mountains that 5 years ago (Nov. 13) glowed with the wildfire are now shining with the sunrise.
IMG_2837
And the sun itself. I am not photoshopping any pictures; I’d like to but haven’t had time to learn that yet. Believe me, when I can, I will. No, I have a lovely camera, Cannon 95S and I focused on the sky and then brought it down to the scene to get a more realistic color. Still I think it is faded a bit from what my eyes saw, so if I did photoshop I’d brighten them a touch.

I haven’t written in a long while. That’s not good, and I apologize. I have been holding on to grace and seeking God’s hand while I love my people through some hard things.
IMG_1795
He has been faithful. The hard things aren’t over but the sunrise is his blessing, and I rejoice in the helps he has sent along my way. We are all growing at 915 Westmont, God be praised. So it’s not easy but it’s simple:
Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. But when you ask you must believe and not doubt…

With the daylight savings time shift, we are awake again to see the sunrise after 6am. With the sunrise the heart rises, and the day begins anew. The problems that each person faces are set in the light of God’s promises, and the key of God’s promises unlock any door in the castle of doubt (Pilgrim’s Progress, by John Bunyan).
IMG_2839
The key and the rock on my bedside table are gifts of God through my dear sister-in-law Sharon. Thank you Sharon! Thank you God. For surises, for tangible reminders of your great promises which are all yes to us in Christ.

I am learning, slowly, to uphold my people. To love them as they go through hard things, and to carry things to God rather than letting their hard things be my hard things and weigh me down inappropriately. This Sunday’s text is about the Saduccees coming to Jesus with the question about a woman that had 7 husbands, and whose wife would she be in the resurrection? Somehow, meditating on the text is teaching me about loving my people in God’s love instead of my own limited love. Depending on him to guide my day and to speak grace and peace into our home. That’s how these days I’m living out
OneWord2013_Depend(1)

How about you?

Leave a Reply

