Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Blessing of Praise

I focus on Thanks and Praise to God here.

That’s the tag line, anyway!

There has been much written lately on giving thanks, and if you haven’t yet read 1000 Gifts, let me again recommend it, but there are other sources to encourage you to give thanks, to keep a gratitude journal, to remember the bright side.

Lately I realized something about praise. How it’s different from thanks.

Here’s an example: my husband always thanks me for dinner. He often says what especially tasted good to him. It’s a wonderful habit that I appreciate. I can follow a recipe: I can cook, but I don’t love to cook daily. Almost I could say I love to bake daily, and the difference is important, like the difference between knitting and crochet. So for someone to praise me and say, “You’re a really good cook!” would feel odd. I’m not sure I would believe them. However, a true statement like, “You just love to bake and you make such good things!” said appreciatively would hit the mark.

I received a gift out of season. My Ladies Brunch Club decided to celebrate my birthday on February 1, so for the first time I had a birthday party that wasn’t near Christmas! It was rather amazing, how different it felt. Among other things I received this:
IMG_1854
They all answered the question “What’s beautiful about Beth” and that’s what’s written on the insert.

I didn’t know I was needing praise. Somehow the words on that mug, true words that told me what was good about me, sunk in and filled a need, and I thank God for that!

Little kids and older kids, all of us need praise.

It encourages us in who we are.

Praising God also encourages us in who we are because it reminds us, reaffirms for us, who our God is.

Thanking God restores the right relationship for us, humble and dependent and grateful.

Praising God restores our vision of God’s greatness as we speak truths about him, to him and others.

Praise the Lord, O my soul
All my inmost being, praise his holy name.
Praise the Lord, O my soul
And forget not all his benefits. (Psalm 103)

All thanks and praise to God!

Leave a Reply

