Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Stay

“Mommy, play with me!”

It was the first line (I think) in the chapter of a book I’d picked up for $2 (because when we were grad students for too many years, I never bought books full price) and the whole chapter nailed my child. Quality time is her love language.

“Stay!” she cries out with heart rending earnestness, as if hers is breaking when I turn my back to leave.

We didn’t do separation anxiety well when she was a baby. I didn’t.

So I usually turn around again, and hug her, reassure her heart that I love her. And I pray about that thing I was going to do. “When will I do it? Rearrange my schedule Lord, you be in charge. Because I trust that you want this child to feel your love through her mother.”

Love first, work after. That’s my mothering motto, and I have to pray daily for his love to fill me.

The five minutes are up:
Five Minute Friday
This very morning I read some great posts that encouraged me in this theme:
Arabah - button

All thanks and praise to God our Rock, our Redeemer!

Comments on: "Stay" (3)

  1. I love your motto…what a wonderful prayer for your daughter!

  2. Your motto is perfect! Love should always come first, but that isn’t always easy to do. There are times when all I want to do is shower, get some work done, or just have a little “me” time. However, then I realize that my little girl is looking to me to meet her every need and she needs my love! As parents we are called to show our children the love of Christ. Thanks for this wonderful reminder today! Also, thank you for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

