Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Letter to God

Dear God,
You’ve been at work on me.
Thank you.

I can see in the things I’ve read,
Holley talking about shadow missions and
Ann talking about obeying God’s voice in the face of fears,
and Bonnie writing bold and scared at the same time,
You’re at work behind it all telling me something…
Thank you.

Am I getting it right?
I want to know I am getting it right for you,
I so want to please you, Father Son and Holy Spirit.

I’ve been thinking from Rich Mullen’s song,
You have been my King of Glory,
Won’t you be my Prince of Peace?

Did you give me those lines?
To tell me you want to be my Prince of Peace?
My source?
Thank you!

You have given me so much, so much, Lord!
To whom much is given, much will be required.
I know.
You have let me fall, to see my sinfulness
in order that you might heal me of it.
Thank you!

I am not so afraid of falling anymore.
I started a HelloMornings Challenge: to wake up early,
start my day with you, in the word,
to exercise (!), to plan/pray (review plans)
And yesterday I failed royally!
But this morning was good.
Thank you!

We are reading about Peter, and you gave me a thought:
Feed my lambs, take care of my sheep, feed my sheep.
It was Peter’s restoration, a new assignment.
A shepherd’s task, and a mother’s.
Perhaps, a Christian’s?

I have a problem with food, Lord.
I fail so many times (but you never let me fall down alone)
Eating what I shouldn’t,
Playing when I should think ahead, plan a meal,
And just not saying no when I know I should.

Would it help me to hear you say, “Feed my lambs?”
Remember the kids that whispered, “She cooked for us herself!” as if that was proof of my love for them, when in my mind it was a basic small thing, and frugal! What lovely funny serendipity to bring a Greek restaurant owner’s granddaughter to a Chinese church in LA. I loved them in so many ways, but a meal in my home hit something you knew of in their hearts.
Thank you!

I’ve been mad at my liberal church, and mad at friends who receive what they want from you (or me) but don’t obey (as if!) and I’ve sunk into cynicism and battled my sin, crying out to you to save me from the snare. We read in Watership Down how one rabbit caught in a snare needed another to dig out the pin, getting his nose bloodied, a rich picture. Christ, bloodied on the cross, you lifted me from the snare. You, the judge who judges justly, have not come to condemn but forgive. Your children who do not obey you, you yet entreat. Your word, it is lamp, it is useful
All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.
Thank you!

Our Father in heaven, Blessed be your name!
May all things obey your rule here on earth as they do in heaven.
Forgive us all our wrongs, as we forgive our neighbors
And oh Father, help us to forgive our neighbors like you do!
Quickly, lovingly, covering over a multitude of sins!
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us out of all the snares
Because you are the real king of kings, the final word.
Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, one God eternally praised.

And after you have been restored, strengthen the brothers.

We need your word, Lord!
Make all your children prophets!
Blessed be your holy name, Lord Jesus.
Amen.

Your
Beth Werner Lee

Posting with a catch of the breath and a group of friends at

Comments on: "Letter to God" (3)

  1. Hi Beth,
    Visiting from Faith Barista today.
    God has such a wonderful way of working in us! Long before we even realize it.
    God bless,
    Laura

  2. We long to hear , and then pray we are hearing right. What is awesome is He knows, and will make sure He brings all to completion!

Leave a Reply

