Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Slow Learned Courage


My mom taught the retarded class in a public school when I was a child busing to another. She was good at it and it was a loving class. I learned that being slow to learn wasn’t a shameful thing…

I once taught for a month with a person who didn’t understand something that was said until it was said a second time. Once I realized this, I just got used to repeating myself! I thought it was a bit odd.

I am slow to learn. I need three times. A message from God has to come at me three different times before I can truly hear, believe, and act upon it.
I trust God knows this. I ponder how perfect his timing is. So maybe the nudge to do something nice for someone comes way before their need? The third nudge fitting with their desperate hope? But wouldn’t it be nice if the first time he nudges me I follow?

Okay, I remember incidences. There were some first time nudges obeyed, and sometimes it took the second. So what’s up?

Is it dependent on my trust (faith) at the time? Does it matter what I am asked to do? Is it a matter of who is involved?

I’m so embarrassed: it was nudges to pray that I obeyed first. Nudges to say something to someone have to be given twice, and nudges to act take three times!

Is that okay?

My mom used to say to me “delayed obedience is not obedience,” and then we both felt guilty.

No, I am going to celebrate the God who knows what I need. I’m going to trust his timing which is always better than mine, his sovereignty, his love.

I’m not going to worry about how often and in various ways God has to encourage me to do his will. I’m going to hold on to him.

So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.
Isaiah 41:10

Joining with Duane Scott in Unwrapping the Promise of Courage:

And the Gratitude Community

Listing thanks (having lost count):

Timing of my day
Ravinia enjoying Suzuki violin camp
On time to pick her up!
Sharing Sequencial Spelling with Robin
Visiting with Stef, finding her house by memory
Like new curriculum passed down
Spring cleaning in rare joy
Dentist visit while Ravinia at piano lesson
Doctor visit (for my shoulder, pinched nerve) with Ravinia along
I’m getting old! But not without hope.
Scholar retreat for ML, an email goodnight kiss.
Camping out in the living room with Ravinia, cat, and dog.
Posting while they sleep.

Comments on: "Slow Learned Courage" (5)

  1. I’m amazed at how many times I have to be “hit over the head” before something clicks. I try not to be that way with God, but…. πŸ™‚ Great post!

  2. duane2scott said:

    I am one of God’s children who also needs to be told a couple times.

    And your quote from your mother about delayed obedience just makes me wish to do better.

    Thank you for sharing this today and thank you for joining the community!

    -Duane Scott

    • Hey, I’m glad you’re taking the quote about delayed obedience in a positive way. I think that’s the way she meant it too, and sometimes we did find it directive instead of corrective! It just sometimes sat there and bashed me over the head and made her feel she hadn’t taught me well. But I think she did a really great job of teaching me to obey! I thank God for her, for 40 years with a loving and disciplined mom who followed Christ. I look forward to seeing her again in heaven.

Leave a Reply

