Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Two kinds of fearless


What causes fights and quarrels among you? Don’t they come from your desires that battle within you?

You want something but don’t get it.

You kill and covet, but you cannot have what you want. You quarrel and fight. You do not have, because you do not ask God. When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures. James 4:1-3

We studied James 4 on Wednesday and then when the white puppy came over we saw it enacted. Then there were two prompts on fearlessness or bravery. Here’s what I have been thinking.

When I want to get what I want because I want it and now, I can be fearless in going after my goal. But it looks like the puppies fighting. It can do damage to another, it can be bad. The fearlessness comes from pursuing my desire without regard for whether the desire is holy, whether it is right.

When I want to get what I want but I pray to ask God for it, then I can wait on him, listening. I can trust the Father of heavenly lights who does not change like shifting shadows, from whom all good things come. I can then be fearless because I fear God more.

It’s a new kind of brave.

When I wanted a child and for five years prayed for one, I told God all about it as my emotions battered me, but I always ended with an expression of confidence that he was at work and knew the best timing and all that. Then, I could pour out motherly affections on the college students my husband and I counselled.

Lately my life has been too full, perhaps. So again I bravely draw a deep breath, look around for things to thank God for to remind me that he is there, in control, giving good and perfect gifts, and then I ask what is important for today. I don’t have it all together, and I fail miserably at times, and I can only pray that he covers me, but I am learning and for that I thank and praise the Lord.

Linking up with prompts for fearless at

and stories of Brave at

(verse and pictures downloaded first, then timed…7 min.)

Comments on: "Two kinds of fearless" (2)

  1. Fearing God more—a new kind of brave.
    Love that.

  2. This – oh how I heart this “I don’t have it all together, and I fail miserably at times, and I can only pray that he covers me, but I am learning and for that I thank and praise the Lord.” Because me too Beth…me too. Sigh. God bless you and yours my friend.

Leave a Reply

