Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Delight

You are my Delight!

The words come to me as I eagerly read what the prompt is for Five Minute Fridays, where we write for five minutes and post without editing.

The Holy One of Israel, in whom is my delight.

I have been slowly learning the power of delighting in my own dear ones. It fights anxiety and is much better for learning goodness than worried urging. But it is a choice, a decision not to do as much so that I am not stressed as much so that I can enjoy what we do together more.

For instance, we are planning a trip to Philadelphia this weekend, Sunday through Tuesday. Ravinia and I have free time to explore while her dad is at a conference. How to plan? I was delighted to find out that the Boy Scouts will be camped at Valley Forge, that President and Martha Washington will be coming on Monday (the day I planned to visit) for birthday cake! So Valley Forge is a high light, but then we’ll do other things on that day as long as we are happy together, delighting in discovery. Amish country. Underground Railroad. Liberty bell. There is so much to see and do, but only to be seen and done by loving delighted mother and daughter, who have been studying the revolutionary war in History, and the book of James in Bible. Faith without works is as useless as rushing around without delight.

Ravinia has found a book she is delighting to read, all on her own:

Click for more delightful posts:

Comments on: "Delight" (2)

  1. I love the line, “a decision not to do as much so that I am not stressed as much so that I can enjoy what we do together more.” I think that might to key to delight and the reason kids so easily delight.

Leave a Reply

