Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Show me your faith

We’ve been studying James this school year, first by working through a chapter of a book study for kids and then day by day memorizing what we studied. (We’ve just begun memorizing chapter 2 this week.) I really appreciate this method.

James 2:14-18
What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, “Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it? In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.
But someone will say, “You have faith; I have deeds.”
Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by what I do.

Here’s some faith (see God, not us):


Ravinia had grown out her hair for the purpose of giving 10 inches or more to be made into a wig for someone who lost their hair probably due to cancer (I still have to research where to send it.) and this weekend we were going for a family photo. I reasoned that cutting should happen before picture instead of after, and we cut it that morning.

Saturday after the picture taking. Hair cut to the glory of God.

The day before that…

We were at the church library on Friday and the other family there brought their Operation Christmas Child boxes (5!) to be turned in on Sunday since they’d be gone over the weekend. Oh, is it that time already? Ravinia turned to me, “Mom, we have two shoeboxes from those shoes we got…”
Yes.
Time enough.
We filled one for an older girl (Ravinia even working on a craft of a stuffed bear given her for her birthday the week before and finishing it and doing a really good job too. Love!) and sent it in.
The other one?
Turns out a friend is hosting a party to fill boxes together and we can fill it there. Since we’d wanted to do a boy, and she has four boys, that will work well!
And I’ve been thinking about this blog post that challenges us to give in a Godly way.

This morning Ravinia crafted turkeys out of muffin and out of sweets

while I sat at the computer and read to her Ann’s posts (she hadn’t read with me in a while) about Hope choosing a Compassion girl her own age, and Ann’s list of thanks as they get ready to fly, and Hope knitting a scarf for her girl, knitting a message of love.

“Mom, are we going to sponsor another? Should be a boy.”
I thought so too. I had already clicked Ann’s link to see the children waiting to be sponsored. One was in a red shirt. Can we say I love red? Yes, my heart responded to Cristopher. But my mind wondered. Money? Commitment? Will I be faithful? Will God provide? I waited.

Ravinia asked if there were other kids in Guatemala…
…so we could visit there someday and see all the kids we sponsor?
We looked, but somehow I kept coming back to Cristopher.
He was still there, although another kid on that page was gone.
I clicked on Cristopher’s picture, and let it sit.

At lunch I asked my dad and Ravinia if it was true that Hannah had 6 other kids after she sent Samuel to the temple, or was it just a myth? They both affirmed it. So. A boy. Yes, I thought maybe I can have six…Ravinia, Heydi, Cristopher…I see a pattern! It’s like Ann’s six in reverse: two girls, a boy, two girls, a boy? One at a time, one year at a time.

A mother sacrifices for her children, right?

“Whoever does the will of God my Father is my mother and sisters and brothers,” Jesus said.

I guess Compassion has smart technology and in the hours I spent dithering they had saved Cristopher’s file for me; it was still there and I clicked sponsor (after checking my bank account) and am glad. It’s a step of faith, but God will provide. He’s growing me.

All thanks and praise to God alone!
Yippee!

More posts on practices of faith can be found by clicking here:

and “How is God calling you to walk by faith?” here:

FaithBarista_FreshJamBadgeG

Comments on: "Show me your faith" (2)

  1. Love the haircut! She is beautiful both ways on the outside, and all the time on the inside. 🙂 I did that, too. We even have a salon in town that gives a free haircut when you do a locksoflove donation.

    • Oh Monica! I saw your post. I thought, Ravinia would look like that. You were in my mind as I cut hers! One year I got mine cut at a salon and Ravinia watched, so that’s why she grew it out, to cut it for someone else. That summer with my short hair I met a friend whose hair was also short since she was recovering from chemo. She said, “We have short hair for the same reason,” and I was both grateful and impressed by the power of solidarity. Grace and peace, Monica.

Leave a Reply

