Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Gifts from God

“You’re writing a book? That’s wonderful!” I gushed.

I love it. I love seeing people write books, and although I have book ideas in my head that have not gone away (are they percolating on the back burners?) there is now a freedom to encourage others as if I had already written many myself. (Okay, my masters thesis is bound, so technically it’s a book, but that’s not the kind of book I mean.) Where does that come from?

The lady I met and gushed over with what must have been God’s loving encouragement moved into my neighborhood to teach at our college for a year before the book came out. We saw each other often and I admired her family. She moved away and then sent me the gift of her book. Our book group read and discussed it this Tuesday.

“It’s like a tennis bracelet,” I said.

“One diamond after another all the way around.”

It opened my eyes to the fact that God is at work calling people to himself; the burden is not on me. It never was on me. There are many people God uses to speak into someone’s life for him; I can be one of them. I get to, if I obey him.

She said my response to her back in the writing time was a gift of God, and she saw me as someone holy, that she wanted to be like that. Wow, God was shining through my skin and bones, because I know I am not always like that. But maybe his refining work is getting him somewhere after all?!

Less of me (why can’t I write a book?) and more of him (loving on those who are given to me).

Bonnie is going to write a book on the faith journey. I am so absolutely thrilled, and I want to read it! I hope she blogs about the process. I know she’ll continue to lead writers in her weekly jam.

FaithBarista_FreshJamBadgeG

She asked this week, what’s a gift you’ve received from God lately?

So many!

Heart gifts:
the ability not to envy after all,
songs in the night when I wake up, songs of praise,
the opportunity to care for the anxious one with God’s love so I don’t become anxious,

Physical gifts:
This morning early driving Professor Husband over to campus with the almost 100 notebooks he’d been grading, there were streaks of cloud glory above the buildings on campus heralding a new day. I thought they were streaks airplanes leave behind, it looked like that, but no airplanes so it must have been God’s gift. Here is a picture of the half of it I could take later when home and camera in hand and the sky had changed a bit, but still spanning out sky glory to God:

Tea, instead of coffee, because I had to quit coffee although I enjoy it. My friend gave me the Earl Gray Green tea which tastes so wonderful for a green, and another friend gave me the pretty pot, Mom had bought the cozy (which has Beatrix Potter people on it), and the muffins are Ravinia’s creation from yesterday (substituting pumpkin and apple for carrot in the recipe!)

I think what it all comes down to, many gifts spiraling up to one large word-from-God gift, is Peace.

My peace I give you. I do not give as the world gives, so do not let your hearts be troubled.

Be anxious for nothing but in everything by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God, and the peace of God which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

(verses quoted from childhood memory work both in KJV and NIV, linked to NIV)

Comments on: "Gifts from God" (4)

  1. Your transparency and death to self result in such great encouragement. What would the world do without your encouragement and prayers? 🙂

  2. You go into writing a book like you would in anything. Read. Learn your craft. Figure out your focus and develop the idea. Then, write. :o)

Leave a Reply

