Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Now the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. (Galatians 5:22-23)

I’ve had such a wonderful busy full week and so many little details could have gone wrong and didn’t. I prayed about them beforehand and I thanked God in gratitude after, amazed that all went so very well, from timing to relationships. Yet, I worried during things. If I could grow in that…

Because if you’ve prayed about something and then you feel free from worrying about it, that’s the best. I remember two shocking stories like that. Years ago I prayed for a green station wagon in March and then in August when we got a green Subaru Legacy GT (leather interiors) I remembered my prayer in March. The other was worse: I prayed that God would allow my husband to be accepted into only one of the 3 grad schools to which he was applying so that the choice would be clearly God’s and not ours (but I forgot to tell my husband until he complained about the worst rejection rate he’d ever experienced!). Both were rather quick prayers. Very child like, I just asked and trusted and totally forgot about having asked. I almost wonder if it weren’t the Holy Spirit prompting me to ask…

I like the end of the verse: against such things there is no law. No one has made a law forbidding godliness.

So I pray every night for God to fill Ravinia’s heart with his love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, obedience, and self-control (yeah, I sneak in the obedience one). But do I trust that he is working that out, answering that simple prayer?

Do you see Spirit fruit?

Leave a Reply

