Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Parenting is about loving my child now. (Dragon Mom)

Ravinia stands there and she says to me, “Mom, I don’t want to be a mom who rushes her kids, so can you please not rush me?”

I am cut to the quick.

I was the rushed child.

The preacher spoke at mom’s service, and I finally realized she was like that with everyone, not just me. It wasn’t my fault.

Oh, but how, now, do I reverse (not just stop) the cycle?
I think I know someone who knows.

Put your hope in the Lord o my soul,
I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God!

The above was written last night in the dark, and I want to testify that God is doing something in the secret places.
When there are too many things to do in a day, prioritize and pray.
Do the ones that need to be done first, think about how to order the next.
Today we did a little school while I sewed a dress, colonial style.
Ravinia wore it at 1:30 to a book club meeting discussing the Felicity books.
Then we came home to prepare for her birthday tomorrow (big party),
and to eat out with Daddy who leaves tomorrow morning early for TX.
After returning home again she was all set to do so many things, but
organizing games,

playing piano,
thinking about so many details overwhelmed her and Mom called stop, bedtime.
While she played piano I coated a balloon for a pinata.

and after she went to bed I came out to give it a second coat so it would be dry and ready to paint tomorrow: dolphins circling around fish.
I also got a jump on chili for dinner, starting the crock pot tonight:

While there can always be more to do, it is time to sleep, rest, and trust God for tomorrow, that the important things will get done and that the thrill of God’s blessing on the timing of my day will carry me through (better than coffee)!

Leave a Reply

