Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

I woke up this morning and prayed.
“God, I need your love today, in abundant measures because I feel so sick.”
Into my mind popped an image of flowers, a bouquet of roses.

I woke early so I thought maybe I could bake something for breakfast. Looked at what we had in the bowl:

Apples, I’ll make an apple pie cake, but where’s Marcy’s recipe? Oh, I have to get organized with my many recipe cards! But for now, I’ll google. I found this recipe which has 2 apples instead of one, and vanilla instead of pie spices, but why not try something new? It seemed similar.

First I peeled the apples with the handy peeler-corer-slicer, have you seen these?

Then I let them sit while I put the egg and sugars into the bowl, got out the wheat flour, and I looked up. The sun was shining on flowers. I just had to go out and take the picture! Several attempts later, here are the bouquet in morning sunlight God gave me:

Thanking God for his love, I went back in to chop the apples. The nice thing about the peeler-corer thingy is you can then just slice one way to get perfect little chunks:

Not that I’m trying to sell you one.

Here’s the end result for my family’s breakfast.

The fog has rolled in, so the sunshine is gone. The day is beginning, but the flowers and the baking have given me extra joy-love for which I thank and praise God!

Linking up with posts on the practice of faith:

Comments on: "31 Days of Thanks and Praise {day 18} Recipe" (3)

  1. Perfect. Flowers from God, when you feel sick. (Since you were able to make that fabulous breakfast, I presume you don’t mean a runny-nose kind of sick? You mean another kind of sick?)

    Sometimes light shining diffused (like through fog) is brighter, is it?

    • Light diffused is brighter.
      I think we get better pictures right, when there aren’t shadows, but then the light/shadow contrast isn’t there.
      No, when we’re in the fog we’re in clouds up here on my mountain, and I think there’s a difference when the clouds are up above you and the light comes through them.
      I’m not sure. You’ve got me thinking. But it is definitely brighter in my house when the sun shines through.

  2. Lovely site! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am bookmarking your feeds also

Leave a Reply

