Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

When the baby was young and I was far overweight, I didn’t think I had time to myself, away from the baby’s need and the chores to be done, no time to think or pray.

Quite often the word I’d read to the baby the night before would echo in my heart the next day.

Quite often the word read, three passages and a psalm, on Sunday would hit me like life-giving water in a parched desert.

Quite often I didn’t know how starving I was for water, living water, and I reached for coffee and a dozen chocolate chip cookies. Maybe not always the whole dozen, but I do make really good cookies!

One day I walked by the free book swap for literacy place, and there in the window was a book. I grabbed it, joyfully. I read it, not cover to cover in a day, not even a chapter a day as it said to, but when I could, because it was about relying on grace, not law. So I relied on grace for when I would read too.

It turned me around.

One way was thinking about timing.

As I filled in this chart about false beliefs leading to actions and results, I realized I thought I had no time.
So I didn’t make time.
I got too busy.

Once I realized this stemmed from a lie that I didn’t have time, (another book made a very funny point that we’re all, rich or poor, given the same amount, 24 hours) I asked God to show me the truth.

I did have time for myself, I just didn’t know when it would come.

So I wasn’t prepared for it.

I decided I’d have my Bible and journal ready when the 10 minutes came in my day. It became a game of waiting for God’s provision, my being ready to meet with him whenever he gave the gift of a free moment.

10 minutes one week became 20 the next, and then 30! My little daughter played happily nearby.

God, who provides all that I need, especially loves to provide what I need for relationship with him! Yes. All thanks and praise to God!

I’m writing to share this today because of Gypsy Mama’s post and Ann’s community writing on practices of hope…to read more click on the button:

Comments on: "31 Days of Thanks and Praise {day 5} Timing" (4)

  1. “I decided I’d have my Bible and journal ready when the 10 minutes came in my day. It became a game of waiting for God’s provision, my ready to meet with him whenever he gave the gift of a free moment.” What a great idea! Plain ordinary reading of the books proliferating on my Kindle is what I’m struggling to find time for right now, and maybe this is a good next step of transformation.

    Thank you for your kind words at my place today. You are a blessing.

    • Thank you, I love finding a post from Tinuviel in the community.

      I was the kid who ran through the halls to her organized locker, traded books and got to the next class as quickly as possible so as to read more in her current fun reading for those 5-10 minutes of hall time! Weird, eh?

  2. Beth, this blesses and inspires me so much. Those 10 minutes…growing! What grace, and what a great idea!

Leave a Reply

