Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Pretty Woman

She’s a beautiful lady.

Forgive me, I tend to shy away from beautiful blondes. It was a blond “Nellie” in 7th grade who smiled at me and then immediately dropped the smile, her face blank. I smiled on, and broke inside. I had just moved that summer from PA to Dallas and didn’t know how people related here. Make up, broad vowels, and all. What was that?

Years ago that was, and I have had many beautiful friends since then. In college my friend Jeanine’s sister introduced me to Lancome makeup which had colors that worked on me. My friend Marsha blessed me with freedom to dress up and dance (in the girls’ dorm together, for it was at Wheaton back in the day…)
Beauty can be true,
a heart at times shines through,
so I don’t have to deny
when the beauty hits my eye
that the person may be real
a friend time will reveal.
(not really a poem there, just a sudden inspiration, unedited) and so sometimes I still shy back from the put together beauty and sometimes I remember what I also learned that year when “Nellie” smiled at me: underneath we’re all needy and yet we all have opportunities to bless.

So when I met this particular beautiful blond a few years ago and she told me she was holing up in a neighbor’s spare room writing her book it was a particularly grace filled day for me. No inward withdrawal (maybe a whisper, which I set aside: “Oh, I’ve always wanted to write a book!”) but instead the gushing encouragement flowed:
That’s great!
You’re here writing, and how’s it going?
Honestly, I don’t remember exactly what was said. I know she said she liked hanging out with my neighbor’s little girls between long writing sessions because she missed her own kids.
I didn’t know it was God at work.
I should have known, that rush of grace overwhelming the whisper.

The book came out, and I read it. I wrote a review here earlier. I keep thinking about things she wrote. I think about the book’s intended audience and wonder. I think it’s like an expose of Christian influences at what is thought to be a godless place. Oh, how many times God has taken my blinders off when I’ve thought a place was godless! I love how the book reads like a novel (again, I’m dense to the beauty of well written true stories not having grown up on many) and drops jewels in my lap: jewels she treasures and enjoys even more through sharing. In commending it to you, I enjoy the treasures too.

Matthew 13:51-52 (NIV):
“Have you understood all these things?” Jesus asked. “Yes,” they replied. He said to them, “Therefore every teacher of the law who has been instructed about the kingdom of heaven is like the owner of a house who brings out of his storeroom new treasures as well as old.”

On Wednesday I’ll write on How to Bless a Pretty Woman


841-850
Yummy leftovers for supper
planning fun Fridays; campfire and s’mores to celebrate first week of school
safety on the road to Ventura
reading Narnia in the car
Sunday dinner having a life of its own, God at work there
hard day Thursday driving me to prayer
allergies, anyway, and medicine that helps
full schedules
so that I’m never bored!
talking with Greg Honnold after church

Comments on: "Pretty Woman" (1)

  1. Thank you for stopping by Getting Down With Jesus the other day. You blessed me so. And I’m so glad I came over tonight. I’d never, ever, ever want to repeat junior high years. How about you? UGH. …

    I enjoyed your gratitude list. This one really stood out for me: “Sunday dinner having a life of its own…” It’s such a joy to see God do His thing when we gather at the table.

Leave a Reply

