Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Rise Above

“We walk by faith…we fly that way too.”
It was a line I read in CCM Magazine, a whimsical line from Rich Mullens. I’d loved all his songs: every one of them seemed to be what I was learning from God around the same time they came out.
Only there was the one, We are not as strong as we think we are, it wasn’t my story exactly, but…

“When you love you walk on the water,
you don’t just stumble in the waves.
Me, I want to go there something awful
but to stand there takes some grace,
oh we are not as strong as we think we are.”
and the haunting ending fading out walk on the water. Here’s a link, because I’m not quite knowing how to embed a video in my post yet!

Walking by faith takes some grace.

I’ve been given much.

I know the Word: I’ll be expected to give much.

When you love. One of his first songs had that too:
When you love, you gotta thank the Lord!

I love, I have been loved, oh so well.
So it’s not exactly to my credit when I live up to what I have been given. No, thanks be to God.

Okay, so here it is: a conflict.
I wanted to be a peacemaker, to limit the damages.
I got attacked, to keep me from accusing.
I apologized.
No one else did.
I thought about that.

Where do I get the high ideal of mutual apologies?
That is how my brother and I were raised.
“I’m sorry, John, forgive me?”
“Yeah, I’m sorry too.”
I didn’t realize the force of it until one time when I thought it was all his fault and he said, “Aren’t you going to apologize about…?”

What offering an apology even in the face of unjust accusations does is
it walks on water.

Step above the two sides facing off, both of which I could have been, can understand.
How to love them?
How to explain?
Prayer.

God reminded me of my job: love.
He reminded me of my people (not them) who need me unworried.
So I laid it down in prayer.
Chose to step over this conflict.
Not my battle; the battle is the Lord’s.

Walk by faith,
choose to love,
receive and give grace.
We fly that way too.

Linking up with Ann on walking by faith this week and next, to read more posts click here:

Also with Bonnie at Faith Barista Jam on what God is saying to us in our whitespace (time with God), for more posts click:

FaithBarista_FreshJamBadgeG

Leave a Reply

