Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Practicing Love 2

Movie Review, of a sort

I don’t think anyone involved in the making of Becoming Jane would have thought it helpful for spiritual revival.

I’m not even sure how much of the story is true.

I’ll admit to loving Jane Austen, to having at one time owned all of her books in a very nice edition. To owning movie versions, even. A mug…okay, yes.

So when I saw the movie at the library I borrowed it on a whim, thinking I’ll watch this privately, not sure how appropriate it would be for a 10 year old who hadn’t seen more of Jane than the mug (but claims the mug as hers!).

I have to think how to write about this and encourage you to watch the movie without spoiling it. I won’t say much. It was a GREAT movie to watch, true to the time period, at least true to the movies that have come out lately. I hadn’t done any biographical reading on Jane, so I didn’t know how much of the movie was fact. But I had known (who had not?) that she never married.

After watching the movie, late night now, I put the machine away and went to bed and cried. Yes, I cried. It was because of why she never married. It was because she was so dear, and loving, and her love was on a higher plane than mine. I know. She was good. “Only God is good,” Jesus tells the rich young man in Mark, but I mean that she was good with Jesus’ goodness.

I cried because of the times I have not been good with Jesus’ goodness.

Lately, for the past year, I have been praying every morning to ask God to give me his love with which to love others, for my love is mixed, sinful, needy, unholy. His love is pure, powerful, healing, righteous.

Last night, in hot tears of confession I realized how all my trying to be righteous (and I do try, wanting desperately to be) is inadequate. Now, in my morning prayer I add “give me your righteousness” to give me your love. Unless I wear his righteousness as a cloak, exchange my unworthiness, I will not shine with his goodness. I will not shine.

Love is GOOD. 1 John 3:
16 This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers. 17 If anyone has material possessions and sees his brother in need but has no pity on him, how can the love of God be in him? 18 Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth. 19 This then is how we know that we belong to the truth, and how we set our hearts at rest in his presence 20 whenever our hearts condemn us. For God is greater than our hearts, and he knows everything.

Comments on: "Practicing Love 2" (3)

  1. And praise God that we have already been signed, sealed and delivered, now we wait for all things to be restored. And while we are unworthy he ishttp://hbr.org/2011/06/defend-your-research-what-makes-a-team-smarter-more-women/ar/2  the daddy that has a sparkle in his eye when he tells or thinks of a story about us, he’s the daddy that comes down to our level to help us up, and he’s the daddy that doesn’t see us for our faults or inadequacies. Amen! and Amen?
    Thanks for sharing Mrs Lee,
    Beautiful, just beautiful

  2. Sorry about the odd typo above….haha

Leave a Reply

