Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Hebrews 11:1 (the classic verse on faith)

She saw the catalog before we decided whether to put it in the recycle bin.

Sometimes catalogs need not to be looked at. This one is full of overpriced temptation. Usually I address this by looking only for things that I can’t make. This time we found one, and when I saw the price I even thought it reasonable. A wheelchair.

For months now she has played that my Samantha doll is ill. She stayed at a neighbor girl’s house for a week, as hospital time. She’s sitting in a shoebox made wheelchair without the wheels.

And I was tempted, really, to get it for her. But then I thought, Ravinia always wants money to send to Heydi, and Heydi’s birthday is coming up. I’ll ask Ravinia: “Do you want to buy this wheelchair or put the money in the Heydi account?”

You see, we had followed Ann Voskamp’s trip to Guatemala. The first day she was there we looked at children waiting to be sponsored. Ravinia wanted a girl, someone her own age, and she was looking for someone unhappy so she could love her. Ravinia is an only child, and since she was 2 she was praying for a sister. Now she doesn’t.

“Oh,” her expression changed with the realization that this toy cost the amount for one month of what we send to support the ministry to Heydi. “Heydi should get the money. This chair I’ve made for Samantha is fine, I don’t really need that one.”

Don’t get me wrong, I have really enjoyed American Girl dolls and books and things, and they are high quality. But I am grateful for and humbled by my daughter’s excellent response. A loving heart for the poor wins out over things I don’t need.

Her love for Heydi is full of the assurance of things hoped for and the evidence of things not seen.


FaithBarista_FreshJamBadgeG

While this post was written for Faith Jam, it also links to Ann Voskamp’s

on the subject of humility and with thanks.

Comments on: "Humble Hearts aren’t Tempted" (7)

  1. What a girl! …and mom. 🙂

  2. Thank you for bringing up your children with a heart for those less fortunate. You will both be blessed, for what you do for one of the least of these, you do for Him.

  3. Thank you for encouragement! I want to be clear that I think the idea to contrast toy and girl came from God and was so instant I didn’t even question it. I am so very thankful that sometimes the Holy Spirit gives me an idea. I’m not always good at following through.

  4. From mother to daughter, from blessing to blessing, from your hands to the hand on one in need. Beautiful faith indeed.

  5. I’d surprise her with it anyway for such a generous heart deserves it.

    • Thanks for your encouragement. I did order it! Along with a few things on sale to put away for later surprises. I don’t think I would have if you hadn’t commented, so thank you, much.

  6. Wow. What a thoughtful mom – to give her the choice. Such a sweet heart, your daughter. And Nikole had a great idea. It will be poignant surprise to your daughter! What a great community we have to swap ideas! Thanks for this in the jam, friend!

Leave a Reply

