Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Dragonfly Gratitude

1. Write for 5 minutes flat with no editing, tweaking or self critiquing.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in {you can grab the button code in my right side bar}
3. Go and tell the person who linked up before you what their words meant to you. Every writer longs to feel heard.

OK, are you ready? Give me your best five minutes for the prompt:

Grateful…

Today we found a bug flown into our car, startling my daughter who found it in her backseat cupholder. It was big, and she thought, alive. I couldn’t wait to get home, but I did, with her reassurance that it was okay, non-threatening.

It must have flown in at the window or gotten swirled in as we drove. Its tail was broken. A very big dragonfly with gossamer wings and yellow spots. We somewhat fearfully, carefully, helped it out of the car.

We were late for violin lesson, but she wanted to take care of the bug. Wanted to put it in a cage, and heal it. I rushed her off to violin, but as she had forgotten her book, I returned and found the bug sitting on a green branch of groundcover and pulled off the branch to which it still clung, nestling it all safe in a box until later, to show Daddy.

During dinner, after dinner, through the evening she and I checked on the bug. “It’s still alive,” she’d say, and unbelieving, I took it in my hand. It was! I snapped a picture.

But later, I was pretty sure it wasn’t going to make it. The tail looked so sad. I cut it off and the bug’s new back end rose and I realized I’d thrown it off balance worse than letting the crippled tail remain. So sad.

The bug will die, I realized, and I prayed. “Oh look at us, God, we’re loving on a dying bug. You’ve been loving on a dying world, oh for so long. THANK YOU!”

Comments on: "Dragonfly Gratitude" (8)

  1. Great analogy of God’s love for his little ones, I agree thank you God! He was a beautiful Dragonfly!

  2. What a wonderful illustration! Your daugher is so compassionate.

  3. Your daughter is much nicer to bugs than I was at her age…:o) Good blog and good point.

  4. What a redemptive moment where you saw the world the way God sees it. Awesome!

  5. Amazing revelation you were given.
    Thank you.
    Andrea

  6. So sweet that your daughter hoped she could heal the bug! Sorry it did not make it!
    Yes, we are in a world that needs healing and that can come only through Jesus Christ our Lord. Thank you for this thoughtful post!

Leave a Reply

