Lifting hearts to God in thanks and praise.

Whitespace Travel

IMGP6420

Tomorrow morning we fly out. Are we packed yet?

Of course not.

There is much to do each day, classes held on campus, and in order to get things done I dropped one of the two classes. I’m sitting in on the Christian Imagination of C.S. Lewis class. There’s so much that could be done, I pray for wisdom to do the important things and let the lesser go.

Last Thursday I got a massage. Clearly a right choice! I hear crackles when I roll my shoulders but I believe it’s much less painful and I’m strong enough for the journey because they were worked on.

Tuesday I got a prayer session. Also a right choice, as I now feel I have a clean heart and a right perspective, trusting the Heavenly Father!

I will probably post on FaceBook more than on this blog, but I wanted to write here about how we need down time when traveling.

Sitting at the gate waiting can be whitespace. Can be clear for imagining. Can be people watching. Can be silent prayer.

Sitting in the plane forever can be whitespace also. There are things I have packed to do in that space, and if I don’t get to them they can be presents for friends I will be meeting in a month! The time is a bubble between places, a flight of hours instead of travel of months. It is important to have time between places, to settle my thoughts about the life I live in the place I leave and then to think forward to the place I will be entering.

Whether busy or stopped, I can look to God. Whether winning the battle of light or not, I can look to God.

I have started a new memory project with Ravinia, and one of the things we will be doing on the plane is writing out our verses:

1 John 1:1-5

That which was from the beginning, which we have heard, which we have seen with our eyes, which we have looked at, and our hands have touched–this we proclaim about the word of life. The life appeared: we have seen it and we testify to it, and we proclaim to you the eternal life which was with the father and has appeared to us. We proclaim to you what we have seen and heard so that you also may have fellowship with us. And our fellowship is with the father and with his son, Jesus Christ. We write this to make our joy complete.

(How’d I do? That was from memory, but I had worked on the first two chapters back in the 90s, so it’s not quite fair. Before that I had spent a summer in the 80s reading through the book of 1 John every day–it only takes 15 minutes. So yes, I could easily say it is my favorite book…if it weren’t for James, or 1 Peter, or 1 Thessalonians, or Titus, or…!)

Praise and Thanks to God!
for travel,
for learning,
for you.

Comments on: "Whitespace Travel" (2)

  1. Have some beautiful whitespace moments as you travel, Beth!

  2. ourrainbowfamily said:

    How exciting….enjoy your travels…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

